BOOK REVIEW: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Posted November 19, 2019 by wildandw in ARC Review, Book Reviews / 0 Comments

BOOK REVIEW:  Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina LaurenTwice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books on October 22, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 358
Format: ARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Goodreads

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

add to your tbr
buy it on amazon


MY THOUGHTS

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Twice in a Blue Moon is a good read but wasn’t entirely a hit for me — likeable but not loveable!

I truly love Christina Lauren’s writing! I appreciate how seamlessly they write as a duo and always find their style(s) easy and evocative. Told in the POV of the leading lady, Tate, this is a story of first love, betrayal and heartbreak, second chance romance, and redemption.

Although I found this to be beautifully written, there was some kind of disconnect for me that I can’t entirely explain. Some of my issues were that I found the shift in the story from Tate’s past to her present-day life a bit jarring, I was never completely invested in the characters, and I wanted more from the romance.

I absolutely adored the present day setting, the behind the scenes of making the film, and learning the story behind the script. The story within the story is simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking — it is probably my favorite aspect of this book.

Overall, I didn’t love Twice in a Blue Moon, but I also didn’t hate it. I know there are a lot of readers who will thoroughly enjoy this one, especially if they are fans of CLo’s Love and Other Words.

*Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an advanced copy of this book. Please note that it, in no way, had an effect on my opinion or review.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners and best friends Christina Hobbs (pictured right) and Lauren Billings (pictured left). The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fifteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received multiple starred reviews, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, been inducted into the Library Reads Hall of Fame, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, a Lambda Literary Award finalist and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as Forbes, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Time, Entertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in 2017 to critical acclaim, followed by Roomies, Love and Other Words, Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating, My Favorite Half-Night Stand, and the Publisher’s Weekly, Kirkus, and Library Journal starred The Unhoneymooners, out May 2019.

Lauren Billings (but everyone calls her Lo) has a Ph.D. in neuroscience and before she made writing her full-time job, would spend her days doing nerdy research-type things wearing a lab coat and goggles. She is silly Mommy to two littles, wife to one mountain biking homebrewing scientist, and an unabashed lover of YA and romance.

Christina Hobbs (but you’ll always hear Lo call her PQ) used to spend her days in a junior high counseling office surrounded by teenagers. These days you can find her at her desk, writing or watching BTS videos. She grew up in Utah and is absolutely not old enough to be the mom of a 17 year old (right??), thinks she’s the luckiest person in the world to write books with her best friend, and is an unapologetic lover of boy bands and glitter.

(Author Website)


PIN IT

Tags: , , , , ,


Leave a Reply