RELEASE DAY: Forward from Amazon Original Stories

Posted September 17, 2019 by wildandw in Miscellaneous / 2 Comments

Amazon Original Stories, an imprint of Amazon Publishing, is pleased to present Forward, six stories exploring the nature of discovery by an all-star group of authors, including Veronica Roth, Blake Crouch, N. K. Jemisin, Amor Towles, Paul Tremblay, and Andy Weir. Forward explores a central theme: the resounding effects of a pivotal technological moment. While each author started with this same prompt, readers will discover that each story unearths a unique corner of the sci-fi genre, ranging from intimate to epic, grounded to far future, hopeful to harrowing.

Available September 17, 2019
Read or listen for FREE with Prime and Kindle Unlimited


BLAKE CROUCH is a bestselling novelist and screenwriter. He is the author of the forthcoming novel Recursion and the New York Times-bestselling novel Dark Matter, for which he is writing the screenplay for Sony Pictures. His international- bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy was adapted into a television series for FOX, executive produced by M. Night Shyamalan, that was Summer 2015’s number one show. With Chad Hodge, Crouch also created Good Behavior, the TNT television show starring Michelle Dockery, based on his Letty Dobesh novellas. He has written more than a dozen novels that have been translated into over thirty languages and his short fiction has appeared in numerous publications including Ellery Queen and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine. Crouch lives in Colorado.

SUMMER FROST, by Blake Crouch and narrated by Rosa Salazar, follows a video game designer whose character Maxine unexpectedly “wakes up.”

N. K. JEMISIN is an author of speculative fiction short stories and novels who lives and writes in Brooklyn, New York. In 2018, she became the first author to win three Hugos in a row for her Broken Earth novels. She has also won a Nebula Award, two Locus Awards, and a number of other honors. Her short fiction has been published in pro markets such as Clarkesworld,, WIRED, and Popular Science; semipro markets such as Ideomancer and Abyss & Apex; and podcast markets and print anthologies. Her three series, The Inheritance Trilogy, The Dreamblood, and The Broken Earth, as well as the short story collection How Long ‘Til Black Future Month?, are out now from Orbit Books.

EMERGENCY SKIN, by N. K. Jemisin and narrated by Jason Isaacs, subverts all expectations when an explorer returns to the ravaged Earth his ancestors fled.

VERONICA ROTH is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Divergent series (Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, and Four: A Divergent Collection) and the Carve the Mark series (Carve the Mark, The Fates Divide). Her first short story collection, The End and Other Beginnings, publishes this fall, and her debut adult novel, The Chosen One, releases later in 2020. Her short stories and essays have appeared in the anthologies Summer Days and Summer Nights, Shards and Ashes, and Three Sides of a Heart. The Divergent series was developed into three major motion pictures. Veronica grew up outside of Chicago and graduated from Northwestern University. She now lives in Chicago proper with her husband and dog and writes full-time.

ARK, by Veronica Roth and narrated by Evan Rachel Wood, spins a story of finding connection in the face of our world’s certain destruction.

AMOR TOWLES’s first novel, Rules of Civility, was a New York Times bestseller and was named by the Wall Street Journal as one of the best books of 2011. The book has been translated into over 20 languages, its French translation receiving the 2012 Prix Fitzgerald. Mr. Towles’s second novel, A Gentleman in Moscow, was on the New York Times bestseller list for over a year in hardcover and was named one of the best books of 2016 by the Chicago Tribune, the Washington Post, the Philadelphia Inquirer, the San Francisco Chronicle, and NPR. The book is being translated into over thirty languages including Russian. In the summer of 2017, the novel was optioned for a miniseries starring Kenneth Branagh. Having worked as an investment professional for over twenty years, Mr. Towles now devotes himself full time to writing in Manhattan, where he lives with his wife and two children.

YOU HAVE ARRIVED AT YOUR DESTINATION, by Amor Towles and narrated by David Harbour, explores a fertility clinic’s god-like abilities to alter an unborn child’s life path.

PAUL TREMBLAY is the author of the novels A Head Full of Ghosts, Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, and The Cabin at the End of the World, a national bestseller, and the crime novels The Little Sleep and No Sleep Till Wonderland. His short fiction collection Growing Things and Other Stories will be published in July 2019 by the William Morrow imprint of HarperCollins. His short fiction and essays have appeared in numerous Year’s Best anthologies, The Los Angeles Times, and Entertainment Weekly online. He has co-edited three anthologies including Creatures (with John Langan). Paul is currently on the board of directors for the Shirley Jackson Awards. Paul lives in a suburb of Boston with his family and a dog who is the real star of his Instagram account.

THE LAST CONVERSATION, by Paul Tremblay and narrated by Steven Strait, immerses readers in a patient’s mysteriously slow healing process.

ANDY WEIR built a career as a software engineer until the success of his first published novel, The Martian, allowed him to live out his dream of writing full time. At the 2016 Hugo Awards, Weir won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer for his work on The Martian. The book was made into an Oscar-nominated movie starring Matt Damon. His second novel, Artemis, won the Goodreads Choice Award for the best Science Fiction novel of 2017 and is being developed for film. He is a lifelong space nerd and a devoted hobbyist of subjects such as relativistic physics, orbital mechanics, and the history of manned spaceflight. He also mixes a mean cocktail. He lives in California.

RANDOMIZE, by Andy Weir and narrated by Janina Gavankar, imagines a high-tech Las Vegas casino heist.

Prime and Kindle Unlimited members receive the entire collection for free in ebook and digital audiobook formats. You can download each story individually, or get the whole collection with one click. Stories are available for purchase by non-members, with the option to add digital audio for free. GET IT TODAY!

*Thanks to Amazon Publishing/Amazon Original Stories for providing me with an advanced copy of this book. Please note that all of the information was provided directly by Amazon Publishing or quoted from their April 16, 2019 press release.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “RELEASE DAY: Forward from Amazon Original Stories

Leave a Reply